Est. 2026 Independent production evaluation October 2026 edition
bestaivoiceover.com
AI voice over, judged on what ships
Comparison · method 2026.10

ElevenLabs vs Murf for Voice Over: Which One Ships the File?

A production comparison of ElevenLabs and Murf: published catalog size, language counts, commercial licensing, and export specifications, with a source for every figure.

Choose ElevenLabs if the job ends with a licensed file at a stated specification. Choose Murf if the deciding factor is a large published voice catalog and 35+ languages, and you can get plan terms from the vendor directly. That is the short version. The longer version is about which claims each vendor is willing to put on a public page, because that is the only thing a buyer can check before paying.

This comparison uses the same six dimensions as our 2026 voice over ranking. Both tools are in the top two there, but for different reasons: ElevenLabs documents the handoff, Murf documents the catalog.

The comparison table

What we compared ElevenLabs Murf
Published voice count 10,000+ in a dated third-party table 200+ on the official site
Published language count 74 for Eleven v3 35+
Free entry 10,000 credits per month a free tier is listed; plan terms were not readable in our check
First paid tier Starter, $6 per month, 30,000 credits not published on a readable page
Commercial licence Commercial License from Starter absent from the plan page we read
Export specification PCM 44.1 kHz, 192 kbps (Pro) not stated
Voice cloning Instant on Starter, Professional on Creator not stated

Two cells need a note. The 10,000+ voice figure for ElevenLabs comes from a comparison table published by Unite.ai in October 2026, not from ElevenLabs’ own pricing page; we label it as third-party evidence and give it half credit under the method. The Murf price cell is empty because the page did not render a plan table when we loaded it, not because Murf hides its prices from customers.

ElevenLabs: the handoff is documented

The reason ElevenLabs sits first in this run is not a claim about how human it sounds. It is that four separate production questions have answers on one page.

The first is licensing. Starter lists a Commercial License, and the same plan lists Instant Voice Cloning. A freelance editor can point a client at that line instead of writing a paragraph of reassurance.

The second is export. Pro’s line reads PCM at 44.1 kHz, 192 kbps. That is the most specific export line in this category. Most competitors stop at “download audio” or a file extension. A sample rate tells an editor whether the file can go straight into a timeline or needs a conversion step.

The third is scale. At roughly one credit per character, the Starter allowance of 30,000 credits covers about 30 scripts of 1,000 characters in a month. That is arithmetic from two published facts, not a benchmark. Longer scripts, retakes, and pronunciation fixes eat into it fast.

The fourth is language coverage. The comparison table lists 74 languages for Eleven v3. A number that specific is useful even if your project needs only two languages: it tells you the vendor maintains a localization surface, not a single English model with a translated menu.

Murf: the catalog is the argument

Murf’s public case is simpler. Its site states 200+ voices and 35+ languages. For a producer casting a series, 200 voices is a real shortlist. For a team localizing into a handful of European markets, 35+ languages covers the brief without a second vendor.

What Murf does not publish, on the pages we could read, is the production layer: a sample rate, a bitrate, a subtitle format, or a licence line attached to a named plan. That does not mean those things are absent. It means a buyer cannot verify them from the public page, and this site does not fill gaps with assumptions.

There is a practical consequence. If you are choosing a voice for a one-off internal video, the catalog is most of the decision. If you are delivering to a client who asks “what licence covers this and what format will arrive”, the missing fields become a procurement risk.

The price comparison is incomplete on purpose

ElevenLabs publishes a $6 monthly Starter price, which works out to $72 per year on the annual view. That is a checkable number.

Murf’s page did not give us a plan table. Third-party listings circulate a monthly figure, but we do not reproduce it here because the vendor’s own page is the standard we apply to every entry. If you need the number, ask Murf; if you need a number you can defend in a budget meeting today, use the ElevenLabs line.

Who should pick which

Pick ElevenLabs when:

Pick Murf when:

What neither page settles

Emotion control is the weakest field in this whole category. Neither pricing page publishes a style count, an emotion list, or a control surface. If the script depends on tone shifts, ask both vendors for a test read of the same paragraph before you commit. A catalog count will not tell you whether the read lands.

The same goes for pronunciation. A large library does not guarantee that your product name will be said correctly on the first pass. Budget a revision pass in either tool, and decide which vendor’s revision workflow you prefer after you have tried one.

For the wider field, see the full 2026 ranking and the methodology behind it.

FAQ

Is ElevenLabs or Murf better for a licensed client voice over?

ElevenLabs is easier to clear because its Starter plan names a Commercial License and the same page states an export format. Murf's price page did not render a readable plan table during our check, so a buyer cannot confirm the licence from that page alone. If the client requires a licence line before work starts, ElevenLabs removes one email from the process.

Does Murf have more voices than ElevenLabs?

The published numbers point the other way. A dated third-party comparison puts the ElevenLabs library at 10,000+ voices, while Murf's own site states 200+. We treat the ElevenLabs figure as third-party evidence and the Murf figure as vendor-stated, which is why the two are labelled differently in the table.

Can I compare the two on price?

Only partly. ElevenLabs publishes a Starter price of $6 per month for 30,000 credits. Murf's pricing page was a JavaScript shell in our check and gave us no plan table, so this site does not publish a Murf price. A quote from Murf's sales team is the only honest way to fill that cell.

Which tool gives a better sample rate for editing?

ElevenLabs states PCM audio at 44.1 kHz with a 192 kbps bitrate on Pro. Murf does not state a sample rate on the pages we checked. If your editor needs a known delivery specification before the session starts, that difference matters more than a catalog count.

↑